OBX Connection Home > OBX Connection Forum > Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc
Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc

RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




I would stay up North where you have plenty of new McMansions to rent that may not be real clean and very expensive !!!.If you go down South you will be bored with nothing to do all day. The ferry and tunnel to OI are always packed with locals who will refer to you as a "Touron" . No clubs or discos just Pops !!!The electric could get knocked out by a construction crew .Rt 12 could be closed due to over wash .There are no large supermarkets like Harris Tweeter and what they do have is limited to bread and milk ....on a good day you might get some cheap beer. I don't want to bring up the fact that the area attracts Hurricanes and North Easters in addition to huge mosquitos that will wait and swarm you when you leave your clean unit!! You have been warned .....you make the choice !!! Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley


OBX Connection Sponsored Links




RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




I think a bigger issue is the way renters have become so disrespectful of other's property. There is absolutely no reason why anyone needs to leave a house in such a condition that it takes the next renter hours to clean it. Maybe my family is the exception, but we leave any rental house we've used in as good of, if not better, condition than when we got there. Granted, my wife still cleans the bathrooms and washes any sheets/bedspreads when we get there, but that's just her OCD. I make sure the house is broom swept and vacuumed prior to leaving, and I'll fix little things I see (burned out bulbs, loose screws, etc.) while I'm there during the week, rather than call the PM and cost the owner big bucks for a service call. If something is obviously broken, like the A/C was during a stay in 2017, then the PM gets a call. We clean up after the dogs, we spot the carpet if there's an accident, and clean up around the yard if there are sticks or any potential problems.

To me, we are borrowing someone's house for a week, and I'm going to take care of it like I would expect them to take care of my house if I was loaning it out. I recognize that this isn't a hotel, so I'm not expecting daily maid service to clean up after my family and me. That's my obligation. Unfortunately, there are too many people who totally don't respect other people's property and treat it as such.

SkipsterPA


Thumbs up Clapping smiley Very well said. I wish everyone walked into their rental home (or at the very least ours Tounge smiley ) with this mentality.



RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc





Is there any 4x4 driving down that way?

We are old and decrepit and carry around too much stuff to park and walk to the beach these days...LOL

Yes, there's a bunch of beach accesses (ramps) south of the Bonner. It's $50 for a 10-day permit.

Another option is Ocracoke Island. There's beach access there as well.

Here's a link to the ramps and status.

Click to follow link...

John

J4yDubs


Thank you!

How busy are the 4x4 beaches during the main summer season?


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




We have been very fortunate over the years in that our home is well cared for by our guests. My wife and I make it a point to reach out to our guests, usually on Monday or Tuesday, to make sure everything is OK. If there are any issues we immediately get in touch with our PM, Twiddy, to get the issue resolved quickly.

For the most part we simply don’t have any issues because we take pride in our home and just before the rental season we go down to our home and check everything over. Frying pans and cutting boards are replaced so our guests have new ones. Any missing glasses or dishes are replaced and we check all inside and outside lights to make sure they work and if any bulbs need to be replaced.

The house gets power washed and all the windows cleaned.

We also check all of our TV’s to make sure they are in good working order and check the three TV’s that have Amazon Fire TV connected to make sure that our guests can access the Netflix and Amazon Prime Video subscriptions that we provide at no charge. Batteries are replaced in all remotes and spare batteries are left in a cabinet in the Great Room in case they are needed.

This year we added a Keurig coffee maker and have left about 250 K-Cups for our guests to use. I hope they last most of the season. I hope the guests will use them during their stay and leave them for the others.

Repeat guests get Harris Teeter gift cards to thank them for coming back to our home.

In 2018 we replaced the refrigerator and the electric range and had all the furniture in the great room reupholstered. The cost was in excess of $4500. We feel it is worth it to properly maintain the home and avoid any issues during the rental season. We also replaced all the pool furniture.

All homes managed by Twiddy are inspected once a year. They go room by room and note condition of appliances, electronics, beds, furniture, plumbing and issue a multi-page report for any deficiencies. The owner is required by the contract to correct any issues prior to the first rental.

During the rental season we pay a fee to have any maintenance issues taken care of wether it is replacing a light bulb or replacing small appliances at the owners expense.We get one hour of labor for that fee. It also covers any damage not considered wear and tear.

During the rental season we have the carpets spiffed to clean up any stains.

At the end of the rental season I go down the third week in September everything in the kitchen gets cleaned including all the cabinets. All the bedspreads, blankets and mattress pads get washed. If any of them are in bad shape we replace them. All the carpets in the entire home are professionally cleaned along with the furniture in the great room.



RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc






All homes managed by Twiddy are inspected once a year. They go room by room and note condition of appliances, electronics, beds, furniture, plumbing and issue a multi-page report for any deficiencies. The owner is required by the contract to correct any issues prior to the first rental.

Carolina Calm


Staying on topic, in this loooong post, perhaps this is the nugget of information that the Shandango original poster was looking for in reference to Twiddy service expectations up in the Carova area (not down in Duck)? Once per offseason. Got it.

Good for you CC.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




As the old saying goes....you can have almost everything exactly as you like, as long as you're willing to pay the bill.

Most of us not being independently wealthy - owners, managers, locals, and visitors alike - are all living with the best compromises we can afford.

KDHBreeze


Agreed...but what about when you pay the bill and do not get what is promised??

shadango


That assumes that specifics are promised and not adhered to by the involved parties when what much of this discussion has addressed is expectations by those various parties that are other than what is encompassed in the written rental agreement that lays out rights and responsibilities of all parties.

I can absolutely understand how a burned out lightbulb may not meet a guest's expectation, just as I can understand owner frustration with guests who don't clean up after themselves during a week at a property under the assumption that excessive cleaning is part of a turnover cleaning.

My point is that the end result is a compromise in terms of the market - how much a guest is willing to pay to rent and how much the property owner can afford to invest in maintenance and upgrades and how much maintenance and personnel expenses a PM can afford at that price point without excessive loss. It's a balancing act, and we would all be better for it if everyone treated one another as if part of a community rather than taking an us vs. them approach.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc






All homes managed by Twiddy are inspected once a year. They go room by room and note condition of appliances, electronics, beds, furniture, plumbing and issue a multi-page report for any deficiencies. The owner is required by the contract to correct any issues prior to the first rental.

Carolina Calm


Staying on topic, in this loooong post, perhaps this is the nugget of information that the Shandango original poster was looking for in reference to Twiddy service expectations up in the Carova area (not down in Duck)? Once per offseason. Got it.

Good for you CC.

hatterasnc


Actually, this is exactly what I assumed.

And I guess this actually drives home my point...ONE inspection a year isn't enough to insure that ALL customers have a uniform experience in the properties that Twiddy manages.

Think that McDonalds or The RItz Carlton inspects their restaurants/properties once a year, looking for problems? These and many other businesses are successful because they make sure all customers get a uniform experience. And I do not mean people holding the door open for me.

We have , with heavy hearts, decided to not go back to the Twiddy house we have rented for 19 years straight.

It feels like a breakup. :(

But year after year of Twiddy's empty "we will do better next year" promises and a surprise every year in the next bill.....enough is enough.

No idea what we will find to replace it. Maybe we will end up at the Grand Canyon instead. LOL

The cycle of "pick a house....pay your rent...stay...pay to hold the house for a month after your stay or lose it....pay half the next year in advance a month after your stay or lose it....pay the balance a month before the stay....stay....repeat" locked us in to not looking at other options....so maybe this is a good thing.

Its scary not knowing what we will be doing next year......but I guess things change.

Lots of great memories at that home, even with the numerous disappointments that Twiddy injected into every single year. Our kids grew up in that home.

End of an era for us.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




Well, Shandango it sounds like you have made your choice after much deliberation, discussion and consideration, and finally put this thread to rest. Good luck on your choices.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




and finally put this thread to rest.

hatterasnc


"finally put this thread to rest" ????

At the risk of seeming overly sensitive......I just have to ask....why that added sentiment?

Trying to not take it personally, as I am sure (or at least I hope) it wasn't intended that way....

Not jumping on YOU in particular ...though I guess maybe I am ...... but by saying that that infer you were bored with this thread or didn't see value in it or at least that you feel it went on too long.....I saw a couple other posts basically inferring the same thing and I have seen that in other forums elsewhere as well lately.

Why cant folks just move on and ignore a post/thread if it doesn't interest them or if it doesn't hold value for them anymore? Others may still be interested.

If you do not mind me saying, when someone is looking for info and feedback and maybe commiseration, its rude to say or even infer that the topic is not useful or interesting. If the thread is getting posts, whether by new people or people with 10s of thousands of posts to their name, someone is interested.

Isn't that what these forums are about.....people asking questions and sharing info?

Who should decide when a thread no longer has value to keep going?

I'm old and maybe this shows my age, but I was taught "unless you have something nice to say, don't say anything,

This has been a very difficult time for me and my family, dealing with this. While you may feel its not a big thing, it is for us.

It doesn't feel good , especially as a new member, to be made to feel like my posts are somehow muddying up the forum with "unworthy" posts.

That sort of thing makes people not want to contribute.

Just saying.

Again, maybe that isn't how you intended your comment to be interpreted but that's how it came across to me.



RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc






All homes managed by Twiddy are inspected once a year. They go room by room and note condition of appliances, electronics, beds, furniture, plumbing and issue a multi-page report for any deficiencies. The owner is required by the contract to correct any issues prior to the first rental.

Carolina Calm


Staying on topic, in this loooong post, perhaps this is the nugget of information that the Shandango original poster was looking for in reference to Twiddy service expectations up in the Carova area (not down in Duck)? Once per offseason. Got it.

Good for you CC.

hatterasnc


This yearly inspection does not replace the inspections done during the rental season. It is a much more comprehensive inspection that would catch things like defective appliances, sagging bedding, corroded plumbing fixtures and damaged furniture. Last year our inspection noted a cracked leg on one of our night stands in the MBR. We replaced all the furniture in that room along with the mattress and box spring.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




As the old saying goes....you can have almost everything exactly as you like, as long as you're willing to pay the bill.

Most of us not being independently wealthy - owners, managers, locals, and visitors alike - are all living with the best compromises we can afford.

KDHBreeze


Agreed...but what about when you pay the bill and do not get what is promised??

shadango


That assumes that specifics are promised and not adhered to by the involved parties when what much of this discussion has addressed is expectations by those various parties that are other than what is encompassed in the written rental agreement that lays out rights and responsibilities of all parties.

I can absolutely understand how a burned out lightbulb may not meet a guest's expectation, just as I can understand owner frustration with guests who don't clean up after themselves during a week at a property under the assumption that excessive cleaning is part of a turnover cleaning.

My point is that the end result is a compromise in terms of the market - how much a guest is willing to pay to rent and how much the property owner can afford to invest in maintenance and upgrades and how much maintenance and personnel expenses a PM can afford at that price point without excessive loss. It's a balancing act, and we would all be better for it if everyone treated one another as if part of a community rather than taking an us vs. them approach.

KDHBreeze


VERY well said!



RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




I concur with CC, as our Twiddy home gets all that attention, and more. Carpets and upholstery are cleaned preseason and 2 spifs during the season. This year they notified us of a broken lampshade, and window blinds not operating correctly, but again I think the cleaning is not up to the standard it used to be. We have been with them 10 years.
Not to be snarky, but the OP sounds suspiciously like the lady worried about how the beach nourishment would effect her vacation.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc





Not to be snarky, but the OP sounds suspiciously like the lady worried about how the beach nourishment would effect her vacation.

Ponypeople


Why on earth would THAT be said?

Look, I just came here looking for useful feedback and others thoughts...why does my not being happy with the way Twiddy has treated us, after being customers for a looooong time mean I am what you infer to be someone only worried about herself?

I have been civil in every one of my posts. Can we keep it that way?


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




… I'm old and maybe this shows my age, but I was taught "unless you have something nice to say, don't say anything …


So you start a thread ripping Twiddy apart for six pages? Cute.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc





Just saying.

Again, maybe that isn't how you intended your comment to be interpreted but that's how it came across to me.

shadango


Please permit me to be direct and as polite as possible.

You roll in here with a complaint comment. Folks commiserate with you and offer sympathy, alternatives and share stories and lessons. You continue the relentless drumbeat of "poor me." 5 pages later...What do you want, besides attention?

I am done here and pleasantly hope your 2019 vacation is wonderful, happy and without complaint. Wherever you CHOOSE to be.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




… I'm old and maybe this shows my age, but I was taught "unless you have something nice to say, don't say anything …


So you start a thread ripping Twiddy apart for six pages? Cute.

PaulOinMA


I wasn't "ripping apart Twiddy".....I was relating MY EXPERIENCE. Every word of it was true. if Twiddy looks one way or the other, that is for the reader to decide.

That is different than being rude and stirring the pot just to put your two cents in.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc





Just saying.

Again, maybe that isn't how you intended your comment to be interpreted but that's how it came across to me.

shadango


Please permit me to be direct and as polite as possible.

You roll in here with a complaint comment. Folks commiserate with you and offer sympathy, alternatives and share stories and lessons. You continue the relentless drumbeat of "poor me." 5 pages later...What do you want, besides attention?

I am done here and pleasantly hope your 2019 vacation is wonderful, happy and without complaint. Wherever you CHOOSE to be.

hatterasnc


It's a DISCUSSION and replying back and forth to comments is part of a discussion and the PURPOSE of forums.

I wasnt aware that there were judges here to decide when a thread is of no interest to anyon else or not. I assumed that if no one was interested, no one would post rather than to have someone interject their opinion as to such. My bad.

Look. If you interpret my original post as nothing but a complaint, if you want to discard my post as "woe is me" and nothing more, well, that is your opinion and you are entitled to it.

Like I said, if you find my posts boorish and un-necessary, thats fine. Feel free not to read them or participate.

But is it so hard to be polite and not LOOK to start trouble?

To every one else, i appreciate your feedback and thanks for the food for thought. It did help. Thanks.





RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




OP... just my 2 cents....Getting overly focused over this fee or that misses the point of what is going on.

The market has changed.....IMHO, you are coming face-to-face with that. The recession changed things the other way, in that rates stayed down for quite a few years, and it was a buyer's market. A lot of PM's and owners took it on the chin financially. Some owners did not make it through that and lost homes to foreclosure.

Now the market is back, and at this point, it is a seller's market. High demand is the reality, and PM's are making it up as well as owners. It's an open market at work. I personally think it is an unrealistic expectation to think that complaining on this forum is going to change anything in the overall market. You are in competition with other renters over a limited commodity at a time of high demand. Unless you advocate price controls or other Marxist-type market controls, it is going to respond to supply and demand. We see this in things like gas price changes but tend to accept that..... it is not different here.

The current results may be hard to relate to and be happy with as a consumer. But, as a business owner for 15 years, having had to price everything and try to balance price versus demand AND make it worth my while, it all seems pretty obvious. Sometimes the market situation puts you behind the 8-ball, and other times the market situation allows you to make it up. You either live with it or get out entirely.

As far as cleaning and maintenance, that is a different point IMHO, and I think you are making the right move. If it is not satisfactory, then time to move on. That is really the one main way to 'make a statement' at this point.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc





Just saying.

Again, maybe that isn't how you intended your comment to be interpreted but that's how it came across to me.

shadango


Please permit me to be direct and as polite as possible.

You roll in here with a complaint comment. Folks commiserate with you and offer sympathy, alternatives and share stories and lessons. You continue the relentless drumbeat of "poor me." 5 pages later...What do you want, besides attention?

I am done here and pleasantly hope your 2019 vacation is wonderful, happy and without complaint. Wherever you CHOOSE to be.

hatterasnc


It's a DISCUSSION and replying back and forth to comments is part of a discussion and the PURPOSE of forums.

I wasnt aware that there were judges here to decide when a thread is of no interest to anyon else or not. I assumed that if no one was interested, no one would post rather than to have someone interject their opinion as to such. My bad.

Look. If you interpret my original post as nothing but a complaint, if you want to discard my post as "woe is me" and nothing more, well, that is your opinion and you are entitled to it.

Like I said, if you find my posts boorish and un-necessary, thats fine. Feel free not to read them or participate.

But is it so hard to be polite and not LOOK to start trouble?

To every one else, i appreciate your feedback and thanks for the food for thought. It did help. Thanks.


shadango


It’s do bad you did not document your issues with some photos. I think all phones even cheap ones have cameras. They would go a long way to show what you have experienced.


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




OP... just my 2 cents....Getting overly focused over this fee or that misses the point of what is going on.

The market has changed.....IMHO, you are coming face-to-face with that. The recession changed things the other way, in that rates stayed down for quite a few years, and it was a buyer's market. A lot of PM's and owners took it on the chin financially. Some owners did not make it through that and lost homes to foreclosure.

Now the market is back, and at this point, it is a seller's market. High demand is the reality, and PM's are making it up as well as owners. It's an open market at work. I personally think it is an unrealistic expectation to think that complaining on this forum is going to change anything in the overall market. You are in competition with other renters over a limited commodity at a time of high demand. Unless you advocate price controls or other Marxist-type market controls, it is going to respond to supply and demand. We see this in things like gas price changes but tend to accept that..... it is not different here.

The current results may be hard to relate to and be happy with as a consumer. But, as a business owner for 15 years, having had to price everything and try to balance price versus demand AND make it worth my while, it all seems pretty obvious. Sometimes the market situation puts you behind the 8-ball, and other times the market situation allows you to make it up. You either live with it or get out entirely.

As far as cleaning and maintenance, that is a different point IMHO, and I think you are making the right move. If it is not satisfactory, then time to move on. That is really the one main way to 'make a statement' at this point.

Beachmark


Thanks...yeah, all good points.

Though I do not really agree that (in our case) that it is just a case of the market swapping ends causing fees/rates to go up........OUR fees have been steadily rising every year since the first time we rented.....there has never been a DECREASE or STOPPAGE of the increase of Twiddy fees and/or the rate.....I cant say whether in our case the increases have been "average" or above/below......


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc





Just saying.

Again, maybe that isn't how you intended your comment to be interpreted but that's how it came across to me.

shadango


Please permit me to be direct and as polite as possible.

You roll in here with a complaint comment. Folks commiserate with you and offer sympathy, alternatives and share stories and lessons. You continue the relentless drumbeat of "poor me." 5 pages later...What do you want, besides attention?

I am done here and pleasantly hope your 2019 vacation is wonderful, happy and without complaint. Wherever you CHOOSE to be.

hatterasnc


It's a DISCUSSION and replying back and forth to comments is part of a discussion and the PURPOSE of forums.

I wasnt aware that there were judges here to decide when a thread is of no interest to anyon else or not. I assumed that if no one was interested, no one would post rather than to have someone interject their opinion as to such. My bad.

Look. If you interpret my original post as nothing but a complaint, if you want to discard my post as "woe is me" and nothing more, well, that is your opinion and you are entitled to it.

Like I said, if you find my posts boorish and un-necessary, thats fine. Feel free not to read them or participate.

But is it so hard to be polite and not LOOK to start trouble?

To every one else, i appreciate your feedback and thanks for the food for thought. It did help. Thanks.


shadango


It’s do bad you did not document your issues with some photos. I think all phones even cheap ones have cameras. They would go a long way to show what you have experienced.

Carolina Calm


We actually did the first few/several years....and sent them to Twiddy....a pain in the tookus way back then as it was before we had cell phones with phones....digital cameras - had to download and then shrink and then email..........we stopped when we saw that it was not netting us anything.....we figured why bother. They were falling on deaf ears/eyes in our estimation. Plus we were trying to just overlook the issues and live with them....tough to do that when you are documenting every thing.....only to get the "we will do better next time" reply....LOL So we resigned ourselves to sending an email or phone call during our stay and then on the survey at the end.




RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




I would stay up North where you have plenty of new McMansions to rent that may not be real clean and very expensive !!!.If you go down South you will be bored with nothing to do all day. The ferry and tunnel to OI are always packed with locals who will refer to you as a "Touron" . No clubs or discos just Pops !!!The electric could get knocked out by a construction crew .Rt 12 could be closed due to over wash .There are no large supermarkets like Harris Tweeter and what they do have is limited to bread and milk ....on a good day you might get some cheap beer. I don't want to bring up the fact that the area attracts Hurricanes and North Easters in addition to huge mosquitos that will wait and swarm you when you leave your clean unit!! You have been warned .....you make the choice !!! Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley Laughing smiley

izzymcgee


You forgot sand pumping beach nourishment! Ahahahaaaaaaa


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




Not much chance finding cheap beer on this island. Beer Beer Beer


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




35 posts in 2 years and 34 are in this thread. Time to cut the light out on this one. Light bulb


RE: Twiddy and ever increasing fees, service etc




Not much chance finding cheap beer on this island. Beer Beer Beer

robluc


LOL ...That's Ok....not drinkers.

We just like to drive to the beach, find a nice quiet piece of it, set up our pop up and chairs, and sit, maybe throw a line in the surf and see what jumps on.

Head back to the house and cook dinner, relax and sleep.

Rinse and repeat.




OBX Connection Sponsored Links